We observed Tax Day by marching through Midtown to the old Farley Post Office building with our friends from the War Resisters' League to protest the trillion-plus in tax dollars our country spends on war each year while its people go hungry and homeless and public school buildings crumble. https://www.warresisters.org photo: Robert K. Chin

In April of 2013 we ran with the Represent.Us campaign and charged from K Street to storm the Capitol with a demand that lobbyist money be kept out of US politics. https://represent.us

We joined OUR Wal-Mart, a workers’ group pushing for fair hours, wages and benefits and the right to organize, in Secaucus, NJ when Wal-Mart workers nationwide staged a wave of historic walkouts. http://forrespect.org

We beefed with Wendy’s alongside the Community Farmworkers’ Alliance and the Coalition of Imokalee Workers, whose shaming of chains that pay tomato pickers starvation wages has borne fruit at Chipotle, Trader Joe’s and others. http://ciw-online.org photo: Robert K. Chin

We teamed up with 99 Pickets to demand that Gap, Inc. sign on to the Accord on Fire and Building Safety in Bangladesh by taking over a Banana Republic, to the manager's chagrin. http://99pickets.org photo: Paul O'Reilly

We joined NYC climate movement activists for the National Day of Action Against the Dirty Tarsands Pipelines. http://occupythepipeline.com

Tax Day w/The War Resisters' League
Get money out of politics!
Supporting Wal-Mart workers
Supporting Farm Workers
With 99 Pickets
National Day of Action Against Tarsands Pipelines
RMO - by J. Bell

The Rude Mechanical Orchestra is a 30-odd-piece New York City radical marching band and dance troupe. Through our music and performance, we strive to support people and communities working for social justice. We play protests, demonstrations, direct actions, picket lines, marches, benefits and events for good causes. We function as a democratic collective through consensus-based decision-making.

Subscribe to Rude Mechanical Orchestra RSS